News Weekly Sports

A-LEAGUE – Tony Popovic’s Perth are aiming to clinch their first ever Grand Final

After two sensational Semi Final victories, anticipation for this Sunday’s decider between Glory and the Sky Blues is mounting by the day. Tony Popovic’s Perth are aiming to clinch their first ever Grand Final win in addition to the 2018/19 Premiership, but can Sydney upset the party in WA?

Perth Glory endured nervous moments, and a record-breaking penalty shoot-out, to get past Adelaide United and set up a home Grand Final. Liam Reddy helped Perth Glory maintain their perfect finals record at home in incredible fashion.
The goalkeeper made four saves in the 5-4 penalty shoot-out win over Adelaide United after one of the most amazing games in Hyundai A-League history ended 3-3.
It marks the most by a goalkeeper in a shoot-out in the competition’s history, while Paul Izzo’s three for the Reds is the outright second most.
Prior to that, no team in Hyundai A-League history had ever failed to score more than two of their penalties in a shootout. Sydney FC produced a spectacular performance to crush Melbourne Victory 6-1 at Jubilee Stadium.
It was the equal biggest winning margin in the pair’s rivalry, but comfortably the biggest in a final, bettering Victory’s 3-0 success in the 2015 Grand Final.

Only Ola Toivonen’s late header denied Sydney the outright biggest Big Blue win.
The win also almost matched the greatest Hyundai A-League finals win, Sydney’s five-goal success the second biggest behind Victory’s thrashing of Adelaide United in the 2007 decider.

Adam Le Fondre scored a brace for the Sky Blues to go with strikes from Aaron Calver, Alex Brosque and Milos Ninkovic and a Leigh Broxham own goal.
It handed Victory their first finals loss in regular time since 2016.

Perth Glory will host Sydney FC in the Hyundai A-League Grand Final 2019 this Sunday (kick off 4.30pm AWST, 6.30pm AEST).