Community News Weekly Sports

20th Anniversary Bourtha Cup 2020

This year marks the 20th anniversary for the Bourtha Cup competition. Started in 2000 by a group of golfing buddies, the Cup continues to be a way for participants to meet and share experiences over a game at a variety of Victoria’s courses.

While some are fanatical about the game, others are more interested in an enjoyable day out. The competition is run on Stableford rules allowing anyone from a high to a low handicap a fair chance of winning.

A field of 30 players turned out for the 34th Bourtha Cup at Mornington Golf Course on Sunday 8th March. The beautiful sunny conditions, matched with spectacular views over Port Phillip Bay, did little to distract players from the demanding course with several altitude changes made further challenging by some strong winds.

An exception was while playing on the back 9, players took aim for the Rialto tower among Melbourne’s skyline as they drove towards the pin.
Prizes were awarded for Closest to the Tee and Longest Drives (on both the front and back nine). Greg Tsigounis was closest to the pin on Hole 5 and Jason Morks hit the longest drive on Hole 11. Meanwhile Peter Ganatsios secured both a closest to pin on Hole 19 (not the club house, but a temporary replacement for Hole 15) and longest drive on Hole 1.
Emerging victorious was Ross Alatsas with a score of 38 Stableford points (85 off the stick). Second place went to Jason Morks with 35 points, just pipping Nick Grigoriadis also on 35 points, on a count-back score for the back 9. The NAGA (Not A Golfer Award, or wooden spoon) was also closely contested but ultimately won by Alex Smirnakos.

Many thanks to Dennis Vergopoulos and Kon Kyranakis for organising the day’s events. The participants are now looking forward to the final 20th anniversary event to be held on the Gold Coast in November.

Thank you to our media partner Greek Media Group.

Winner Spiros (Ross) Alatsas with from L-R: George Tsigounis, Kon Kyranakis, Dennis Vergopoulos
2nd place and Longest drive: Jason Morks
3rd place: Nick Grigoriadis
Longest drive and closest to the pin: Peter Ganatsios
Closest to the pin: Greg TsigounisClosest to the pin: Greg Tsigounis
The NAGA award: Alex Smirnakos